Twitter Facebook

Mary and Brett

Status: Qualified for Adoption

About Mary

  • Mary
  • 46
  • CC
  • Christian
  • College
  • Writer
  • running, yoga, spin classes, rock climbing, reading, hiking, cooking, making natural skin and home care products, gardening
  • See hobbies, and add to that spending time with friends and family, hosting small dinner parties for friends and family,
  • See hobbies and activities.
  • Loyal, caring, spirited
I'm a part-time writer for a digital marketing agency - which means that I work from home three days a week to create website content for nationally recognized companies. In my free time, I read, cook, rock climb (which I love, even though I'm mildly afraid of heights), hike, do yoga, pilates, and spin, and I make natural home and body care products - like lotions, salves, laundry detergent, etc. And I'm pretty good at hula hooping, too. :)

About Brett

  • Brett
  • 47
  • CC
  • Christian
  • College
  • Fire Captain/Paramedic
  • running, hiking, cooking, rock climbing, woodworking (building furniture), reading
  • See hobbies and add spending time with friends and family
  • See hobbies and activities.
  • Kind, intelligent, funny
As a fire captain and paramedic, I help people on their worst days - and I love it. But I also loved what I did before - which was teach middle school math and science through woodworking and farming, and own a custom furniture business. When I'm not working, which is pretty often since I work two days, then am home for four, I still love to build, but I also read, run, go mountain biking, kayaking, rock climbing, hiking, and cook. And although Tina and I are pretty active, we also love quiet days at home - watching movies, cooking and generally laying low.

Dear Birthmother

Dear Friend, You are brave and kind, generous and loving. And we think that entrusting your baby to someone else is an amazing act of selflessness. We cannot tell you how honored we would be to welcome your baby into our home - and our life. And although your little one will call us ''Mom and Dad,'' they'll always know that there's another soul who loves them just as much as we do.

Reason to Adopt

Although we tried to become pregnant, it simply never happened for us. We have a wonderful relationship and a ton of love and energy to give to a child. And we'd love to share our life with a son or daughter.

About Us

To quote Leslie Knope from ''Parks and Recreation'' - I love him, and I like him. Brett and I have been married 25 years. About a month after meeting through a friend at a coffee shop, we were engaged. And six months later we were married... before finishing our college degrees. In the years that followed, we finished those degrees and built careers. We grew together. Took an interest in each other's hobbies. Supported one another through challenges. Traveled the world, had great adventures, and made friends near and far. And although we've spent decades together - it seems like we met only yesterday.

Our Home

About a year ago, we bought a house that was built in 1909. We spent the better part of eight months renovating it - mostly ourselves. We tore down walls, updated the kitchen and created a lab where I can make lotions and salves. The house is on one-third of an acre and right next door to an elementary school. We have a vegetable garden and tons of space to play. And because we live near downtown, we can walk to free concerts, movies, and events, plus tons of restaurants, and parks. As a bonus, almost all of our friends (and lots of families with young kids) live in the neighborhood, too.

Adventures

We love to travel to see friends and new places. Some of them we've been to many times, others just once, but we love them all. Tops on our list are Scotland, Istanbul, Telluride (Colorado), New York, Tofino (Canada), Ireland, San Francisco, Washington, D.C., Seattle, North Rim of the Grand Canyon, Guatemala, Italy, and Paris. Plus, we like to kick around our own little town, and love Flagstaff.